Growing A Brand

In 2011 I stepped down from a management position with a cosmetic company where I worked for over 10 years. I was ok at my job but it was a job not a career. I was really scared to walk away from a company that basically treated employees who were loyal and dedicated like disposable mascara wands. It was stressful and exhausting but I liked it for a long time. I knew that I wanted to be a makeup artist, but I needed money. I was pretty decent with business and a somewhat ok makeup artist. Truth: I was a go getter but clueless. Lots of black in my retail days! Doing business on my flip phone.

Two of my BP artists who have now created their own thriving businesses. Brooke and Louisa, I’m so proud of y’all!

I used social media to procure business. i was undercharging for cash and a few bounced checks but I began to learn how to legitimately operate a freelance makeup business. I learned some hard lessons. I almost quit a few times. I got stiffed, attacked by a dog in a bad neighborhood and had some less than desirable clients who only booked me because I was cheap and reliable. It wasn’t all bad though! I made some memories and had some laughs. My experience with drag queens, actors, musicians, dancers, bridezillas, centerfolds, socialites, photographers, and agencies kept me entertained.

The Beauty Patrol 2017

You’ve heard to make money you have to spend money. It’s so true! It started with expanding my skills, getting a website and instead of being a side hustler I went full force ahead to legitimize my business. With no apologies I raised my rates I wanted to be the best. I wanted/needed respect. Living paycheck to paycheck doesn’t serve me. I had to make this crazy creative life work for my family’s livelihood.

Fast forward to 2020 where I have a team of 17 artists. A thrilling adventure that took years to finesse and I’m still working to raise the bar with The Beauty Patrol. I am ready for our best year yet and I am so happy that we are building a brand that benefits our clients.

Leave a comment